Friday, 10 March 2017

The Machu Pichu

Machu Picchu is one of the most important archaeological and architectural treasures of the Inca Empire in Peru. It is inscribed on the List of World Heritage by UNESCO since 1983.

The sacred city of Machu Picchu is located 130 kilometers northeast of Cusco, on the crest of the mountain Machu Picchu, at 2,200 meters above de the sea level.
The location of the city was a military secret, as the deep cliffs and mountains were the best natural defence.

It was a "llaqta" (Inca city), a settlement built to control the economy of conquered regions. Llaqta was the most beautiful of the Inca empire, and had been built to shelter the most select aristocracy in case of attack. It seems that was used for a time as a "resting place" and the Sapa Inca as "observatory". After the conquest of the empire by the Spaniards, was the lack of strength of the revolt Inka.

All buildings in Machu Picchu follow the classic Inca architecture. Between stone and stone, no head or a knife.

 The area built in Machu Picchu is 530 meters long by 200 meters wide and includes at least 172 enclosures. The complex is  divided into two large areas: the agricultural area, consisting of sets of terraces for farming, which lies to the south; And the urban area, which is where the occupants lived and where the main civil and religious activities took place. Both zones are separated by a wall, a moat and a stairway.

Joel V. L.
4th ESO A

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.